PT-2012-50: Multiple vulnerabilities in Siemens SIMATIC S7-1200 Web interface

(PT-2012-50) Positive Technologies Security Advisory
Multiple vulnerabilities in Siemens SIMATIC S7-1200 Web interface

Vulnerable product

Siemens SIMATIC S7-1200
Version: 2.x, 3.0.0, 3.0.1


Severity level

Severity level: High
Impact: Cross-Site Scripting
Access Vector: Remote

CVSS v2:
Base Score: 8.3
Vector: (AV:N/AC:M/Au:N/C:P/I:P/A:C)

CVE: not assigned

Product description

SIMATIC S7-1200 controllers are new modular miniature controllers. Due to the compact modular design with a high performance at the same time, the SIMATIC S7-1200 is suitable for a wide variety of automation applications. Its range of use extends from the replacement of relays and contactors up to complex automation tasks in networks and within distributed structures.

Vulnerability description

The specialists of the Positive Research center have detected multiple vulnerabilities in Siemens SIMATIC S7-1200.

If a user is enticed to activate a malicious URL directed at the S7-1200 web server IP address, the Cross-Site Scripting vulnerability could be exploited. If the attack is successful, the attacker could manipulate what the browser displays when viewing the S7-1200’s web pages, steal session cookies, or redirect the users browser to a malicious web site. In addition, it may be possible for attackers to issue commands to the S7-1200 web server at the users privilege level.

How to fix

Siemens provides a firmware update for versions 3.0.0 and 3.0.1 of the SIMATIC S7-1200 PLC, which should be applied as soon as possible in cases where the embedded web server is utilized as it fixes the XSS vulnerability. Additionally, a HTTP PUT command is supported by the web server which does not impact security. As it is unnecessary for normal use of the S7-1200 web server, it will be removed starting with version 3.0.2.


  • Disable JavaScript within the web browser used to access the S7-1200 web server

  • Utilize a modern web browser with integrated XSS filtering mechanisms

  • Deactivate the S7-1200 web server wherever possible

Advisory status

08.08.2012 - Vendor is notified
08.08.2012 - Vendor gets vulnerability details
08.10.2012 - Vendor releases fixed version and details
11.10.2012 - Public disclosure


The vulnerabilities was discovered by Dmitry Serebryannikov, Artem Chaikin, Yury Goltsev, Timur Yunusov, Positive Research Center (Positive Technologies Company)


Reports on the vulnerabilities previously discovered by Positive Research:

About Positive Technologies

Positive Technologies is among the key players in the IT security market in Russia.

The principal activities of the company include the development of integrated tools for information security monitoring (MaxPatrol); providing IT security consulting services and technical support; development of the Securitylab leading Russian information security portal.

Among the clients of Positive Technologies, there are more than 40 state enterprises, more than 50 banks and financial organizations, 20 telecommunication companies, more than 40 plant facilities, as well as IT, service and retail companies from Russia, the CIS countries, the Baltic States, China, Ecuador, Germany, Great Britain, Holland, Iran, Israel, Japan, Mexico, the Republic of South Africa, Thailand, Turkey, and the USA.

Positive Technologies is a team of highly skilled developers, advisers and experts with years of vast hands-on experience. The company specialists possess professional titles and certificates; they are the members of various international societies and are actively involved in the IT security field development.

PT-2012-50: Множественные уязвимости в веб-интерфейсе Siemens SIMATIC S7-1200

(PT-2012-50) Positive Technologies Security Advisory
Множественные уязвимости в веб-интерфейсе Siemens SIMATIC S7-1200

Уязвимый продукт

Siemens SIMATIC S7-1200
Версия: 2.х, 3.0.0, 3.0.1

Ссылка:
http://www.siemens.com

Рейтинг опасности

Уровень опасности: Высокий
Воздействие: Межсайтовое выполнение сценариев
Вектор атаки: Удаленный

CVSS v2:
Base Score: 8.3
Vector: (AV:N/AC:M/Au:N/C:P/I:P/A:C)

CVE: отсутствует

Описание продукта

Программируемые контроллеры SIMATIC S7-1200 – это семейство микроконтроллеров, предназначенных для решения различных задач автоматизации малого уровня. Эти контроллеры могут использоваться для построения относительно простых узлов локальной автоматики или узлов комплексных систем автоматического управления, поддерживающих интенсивный коммуникационный обмен данными через сети Industrial Ethernet/PROFINET, а также PtP (Point-to-Point)-соединения.

Описание уязвимости

Специалисты Исследовательского центра Positive Research компании Positive Technologies обнаружили множественные уязвимости в веб-интерфейсе Siemens SIMATIC S7-1200.
Если пользователь перейдет по специально сформированной URL-ссылке, которая ведет на IP-адрес веб-сервера S7-1200, то возможна эксплуатация уязвимости типа «Межсайтовое выполнение сценариев». В случае успешного проведения атаки, злоумышленник может манипулировать данными, которые отображает браузер при просмотре веб-страниц S7-1200, украсть cookies сессии или перенаправить пользователя на другой сайт. Кроме того, злоумышленник может отправлять команды веб-серверу S7-1200 с уровнем привилегий пользователя веб-браузера.

Решение

Siemens выпустила обновление для версий 3.0.0 и 3.0.1 для SIMATIC S7-1200 PLC, которое необходимо срочно установить в случае, если используется встроенный веб-сервер, т.к. это обновление закрывает уязвимость XSS. Кроме того, веб-сервер поддерживает команду HTTP PUT, которая не влияет на безопасность. Т.к. она не является необходимой для работы веб-сервера S7-1200, эта команда будет удалена в версии 3.0.2.

Workaround

  • Отключить JavaScript в веб-браузере, который используется для доступа к веб-серверу S7-1200

  • Использовать современный веб-браузер со встроенным механизмом фильтрации XSS

  • По возможности отключить веб-сервер S7-1200

Статус уведомления

08.08.2012 - Производитель уведомлен
08.08.2012 - Производителю отправлены детали уязвимости
08.10.2012 - Производитель выпустил исправление
11.10.2012 - Публикация уязвимости

Благодарности

Уязвимости обнаружили Дмитрий Серебрянников, Артем Чайкин, Юрий Гольцев, Тимур Юнусов (Исследовательcкий центр Positive Research компании Positive Technologies)


Ссылки

http://www.securitylab.ru/lab/PT-2012-50
http://www.siemens.com/corporate-technology/pool/de/forschungsfelder/siemens_security_advisory_ssa-279823.pdf

Список отчетов о ранее обнаруженных уязвимостях Positive Research:

http://www.ptsecurity.ru/lab/advisory/
http://www.securitylab.ru/lab/

О Positive Technologies

Positive Technologies www.ptsecurity.ru - одна из ведущих российских компаний в области информационной безопасности. 
Основные направления деятельности компании - разработка систем комплексного мониторинга информационной безопасности (XSpider, MaxPatrol); предоставление консалтинговых и сервисных услуг в области информационной безопасности; развитие специализированного портала Securitylab.ru.

Заказчиками Positive Technologies являются более 40 государственных учреждений, более 50 банков и финансовых структур, 20 телекоммуникационных компаний, более 40 промышленных предприятий, компании ИТ-индустрии, сервисные и ритейловые компании России, стран СНГ, Балтии, а также Великобритании, Германии, Голландии, Израиля, Ирана, Китая, Мексики, США, Таиланда, Турции, Эквадора, ЮАР, Японии.

Positive Technologies - это команда высококвалифицированных разработчиков, консультантов и экспертов, которые обладают большим практическим опытом, имеют профессиональные звания и сертификаты, являются членами международных организаций и активно участвуют в развитии отрасли.