PT-2012-33: Multiple vulnerabilities in Sanuel Family

(PT-2012-33) Positive Technologies Security Advisory
Multiple vulnerabilities in Sanuel Family

Vulnerable software

Sanuel Family
Version: 11.1.0 and earlier

Link:
http://www.sanuel.com/ru/family/
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.familymobile

Severity level

Severity level: High
Impact: SQL Command Injection, Information Disclosure
Access Vector: Remote

CVSS v2:
Base Score: 10
Vector: (AV:N/AC:L/Au:N/C:C/I:C/A:C)

CVE: not assigned

Software description

Sanuel Family is a software used for personal accounting. The program allows you to carry on family finances, fiscal accounting for small businesses, and also make analysis and accounting of your investments.  Family Mobile application synchronizes data from mobile and personal computers.

Vulnerability description

The specialists of the Positive Research center have detected multiple vulnerabilities in Sanuel Family.
The vulnerabilities are detected in the data exchange protocol used between mobile and desktop applications and synchronization server. An attacker can get credentials used to store data on synchronization server, and also replace SQL queries or inject code into XML data that means that user data can be copied, modified or deleted, and synchronization server can be compromised.

Database user credentials and queries: login, password hash, database name together with SQL queries are sent in clear text via an unencrypted channel. As traffic is intercepted, an attacker is able to get the data in a clear text or modify it.

Data from package analyzer:
host: 78.108.89.191
user: family_user
base: b25764_family
pwd_hash:  6e279eaabccc3ef3e22872e1ab3fe571c7568e97
---------------------------
Data check and download

select u_id from users where u_login='HERE_WAS_MY_LOGIN'\r\n
SHOW TABLES FROM b25764_family LIKE 'users'
SHOW COLUMNS FROM b25764_family.users LIKE '%'
Set NAMES cp1251\r\n
select tr_account,tr_cat,tr_tag,tr_payee,tr_dat,tr_sum,tr_comment,ac_name,ac_currency from transactions left join accounts on transactions.tr_account=accounts.ac_account where transactions.user_id=3293 and accounts.u
SHOW TABLES FROM b25764_family LIKE 'transactions'
SHOW COLUMNS FROM b25764_family.transactions LIKE '%'

How to fix

No solution

Advisory status

27.08.2012 - Vendor is notified
27.08.2012 - Vendor gets vulnerability details
26.09.2012 - Vulnerability details were sent to CERT
03.10.2012 - Public disclosure

Credits

The vulnerability has discovered by Denis Gorchakov, Positive Research Center (Positive Technologies Company)

References

http://en.securitylab.ru/lab/PT-2012-33

Reports on the vulnerabilities previously discovered by Positive Research:

http://ptsecurity.com/research/advisory/
http://en.securitylab.ru/lab/

About Positive Technologies

Positive Technologies www.ptsecurity.com is among the key players in the IT security market in Russia.

The principal activities of the company include the development of integrated tools for information security monitoring (MaxPatrol); providing IT security consulting services and technical support; development of the Securitylab leading Russian information security portal.

Among the clients of Positive Technologies, there are more than 40 state enterprises, more than 50 banks and financial organizations, 20 telecommunication companies, more than 40 plant facilities, as well as IT, service and retail companies from Russia, the CIS countries, the Baltic States, China, Ecuador, Germany, Great Britain, Holland, Iran, Israel, Japan, Mexico, the Republic of South Africa, Thailand, Turkey, and the USA.

Positive Technologies is a team of highly skilled developers, advisers and experts with years of vast hands-on experience. The company specialists possess professional titles and certificates; they are the members of various international societies and are actively involved in the IT security field development.

PT-2012-33: Множественные уязвимости в Sanuel Family

(PT-2012-33) Positive Technologies Security Advisory
Множественные уязвимости в Sanuel Family

Уязвимое ПО

Sanuel Family
Версия: 11.1.0 и более ранняя

Ссылка на приложение:
http://www.sanuel.com/ru/family/
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.familymobile

Рейтинг опасности

Уровень опасности: Высокий
Воздействие: Внедрение операторов SQL, раскрытие информации
Вектор атаки: Удаленный

CVSS v2:
Base Score: 10
Vector: (AV:N/AC:L/Au:N/C:C/I:C/A:C)

CVE: отсутствует

Описание программы

Sanuel Family — программа, предназначенная для управления личными финансами. Позволяет вести бюджет семьи, финансовый учет малого бизнеса, а также заниматься анализом и учетом инвестиций. Мобильное приложение Family Mobile позволяет синхронизировать личные расходы с версией программы для ПК.

Описание уязвимости

Специалисты исследовательского центра Positive Research обнаружили множественные уязвимости в Sanuel Family.
Уязвимости обнаружены в протоколе обмена данными мобильного и настольного приложений с сервером синхронизации программы. Злоумышленник может перехватить служебные учетные данные, используемые для хранения информации на сервере синхронизации, а также подменить SQL-запросы к базе данных, либо внедрить код в передаваемые XML-данные, что может привести к копированию, искажению или уничтожениюпользовательских данных, а также к компрометации сервера синхронизации.

Учетные данные пользователя СУБД, а также запросы к ней: логин, хэш пароля, имя БД а также SQL-запросы передаются открытым текстом по незашифрованному каналу. Перехватив и изменив трафик, злоумышленник может получить эти данные в виде открытого текста либо исказить их.

Данные анализатора пакетов:
host: 78.108.89.191
user: family_user
base: b25764_family
pwd_hash: 6e279eaabccc3ef3e22872e1ab3fe571c7568e97
---------------------------
Проверка и выгрузка данных

select u_id from users where u_login='HERE_WAS_MY_LOGIN'\r\n
SHOW TABLES FROM b25764_family LIKE 'users'
SHOW COLUMNS FROM b25764_family.users LIKE '%'
Set NAMES cp1251\r\n
select tr_account,tr_cat,tr_tag,tr_payee,tr_dat,tr_sum,tr_comment,ac_name,ac_currency from transactions left join accounts on transactions.tr_account=accounts.ac_account where transactions.user_id=3293 and accounts.u
SHOW TABLES FROM b25764_family LIKE 'transactions'
SHOW COLUMNS FROM b25764_family.transactions LIKE '%'

Решение

Отсутствует

Статус уведомления

27.08.2012 - Производитель уведомлен
27.08.2012 - Производителю отправлены детали уязвимости
26.09.2012 - Детали уязвимости отправлены в CERT
03.10.2012 - Публикация уязвимости

Благодарности

Уязвимость обнаружил Денис Горчаков (Исследовательcкий центр Positive Research компании Positive Technologies)


Ссылки

http://www.securitylab.ru/lab/PT-2012-33

Список отчетов о ранее обнаруженных уязвимостях Positive Research:

http://www.ptsecurity.ru/lab/advisory/
http://www.securitylab.ru/lab/

О Positive Technologies

Positive Technologies www.ptsecurity.ru - одна из ведущих российских компаний в области информационной безопасности. 
Основные направления деятельности компании - разработка систем комплексного мониторинга информационной безопасности (XSpider, MaxPatrol); предоставление консалтинговых и сервисных услуг в области информационной безопасности; развитие специализированного портала Securitylab.ru.

Заказчиками Positive Technologies являются более 40 государственных учреждений, более 50 банков и финансовых структур, 20 телекоммуникационных компаний, более 40 промышленных предприятий, компании ИТ-индустрии, сервисные и ритейловые компании России, стран СНГ, Балтии, а также Великобритании, Германии, Голландии, Израиля, Ирана, Китая, Мексики, США, Таиланда, Турции, Эквадора, ЮАР, Японии.

Positive Technologies - это команда высококвалифицированных разработчиков, консультантов и экспертов, которые обладают большим практическим опытом, имеют профессиональные звания и сертификаты, являются членами международных организаций и активно участвуют в развитии отрасли.