PT-2012-27: Privilege Gaining in UMI.CMS

(PT-2012-27) Positive Technologies Security Advisory
Privilege Gaining in UMI.CMS

Vulnerable software

UMI.CMS
Version: 2.8.5.2 and earlier

Application link:
http://www.umi-cms.ru/

Severity level

Severity level: High
Impact: Administrator Privilege Gaining
Access Vector: Remote  

CVSS v2:
Base Score: 10
Vector: (AV:N/AC:L/Au:N/C:C/I:C/A:C)

CVE: not assigned

Software description

UMI.CMS is a system that allows users to manage sites.

Vulnerability description

Positive Research Center experts detected a vulnerability that exists as confirmation code (that is used to reset passwords for all accounts including administrator account) and new generated passwords are predictable.

Vulnerable code: classes/modules/users/__forget.php

$avLetters = "$#@^&!1234567890qwertyuiopasdfghjklzxcvbnmQWERTYUIOPASDFGHJKLZXCVBNM";
$size = strlen($avLetters);
$npass = "";
for($i = 0; $i < $length; $i++) {
$c = rand(0, $size - 1);
$npass .= $avLetters[$c];
}

You need to know user login if you want to reset its password. An attacker can easily check if the login exists, if he tries to register with the login (error-login-exists error class). It is possible because UMI.CMS gets random numbers via PHP function rand, and does not initialize the random number generator via srand function called with  SEED parameter. In this case, PHP automatically calls srand function with predictable SEED based on session number that allows attackers to predict every further result of rand function call. Also in Windows this code provides only 2^15 possible values of generated tokens.

How to fix

Update your software up to the latest version.

Advisory status

16.08.2012 - Vendor is notified
17.08.2012 - Vendor gets vulnerability details
20.11.2012 - Vendor releases fixed version and details
11.02.2013 - Public disclosure

Credits

The vulnerabilities has discovered by Timur Yunusov, Positive Research Center (Positive Technologies Company)

References

http://en.securitylab.ru/lab/PT-2012-27

Reports on the vulnerabilities previously discovered by Positive Research:

http://ptsecurity.com/research/advisory/
http://en.securitylab.ru/lab/

About Positive Technologies

Positive Technologies www.ptsecurity.com is among the key players in the IT security market in Russia.

The principal activities of the company include the development of integrated tools for information security monitoring (MaxPatrol); providing IT security consulting services and technical support; development of the Securitylab leading Russian information security portal.

Among the clients of Positive Technologies, there are more than 40 state enterprises, more than 50 banks and financial organizations, 20 telecommunication companies, more than 40 plant facilities, as well as IT, service and retail companies from Russia, the CIS countries, the Baltic States, China, Ecuador, Germany, Great Britain, Holland, Iran, Israel, Japan, Mexico, the Republic of South Africa, Thailand, Turkey, and the USA.

Positive Technologies is a team of highly skilled developers, advisers and experts with years of vast hands-on experience. The company specialists possess professional titles and certificates; they are the members of various international societies and are actively involved in the IT security field development.

PT-2012-27: Уязвимость определения сброшенного пароля любого пользователя в UMI.CMS

(PT-2012-27) Positive Technologies Security Advisory
Уязвимость определения сброшенного пароля любого пользователя в UMI.CMS

Уязвимое ПО

UMI.CMS
Версия: 2.8.5.2 и более ранняя

Ссылка: 
http://www.umi-cms.ru/

Рейтинг опасности

Уровень опасности: Высокий 
Воздействие: Получение привилегий администратора
Вектор атаки: Удаленный

CVSS v2: 
Base Score: 10 
Vector: (AV:N/AC:L/Au:N/C:C/I:C/A:C) 

CVE: отсутствует

Описание программы

UMI.CMS – система управления сайтами.

Описание уязвимости

Специалисты Исследовательского центра Positive Research компании Positive Technologies обнаружили уязвимость предсказуемости кода подтверждения на сброс пароля любого пользователя (в т.ч. администратора) и предсказуемости впоследствии сгенерированного нового пароля.

Уязвимый фрагмент кода: classes/modules/users/__forget.php

$avLetters = "$#@^&!1234567890qwertyuiopasdfghjklzxcvbnmQWERTYUIOPASDFGHJKLZXCVBNM";
$size = strlen($avLetters);
$npass = "";
for($i = 0; $i < $length; $i++) {
$c = rand(0, $size - 1);
$npass .= $avLetters[$c];
}

Для сброса пароля пользователя необходимо указать его логин, определить существующий логин можно при попытке регистрации с проверяемым логином (ошибка класса error-login-exists). Уязвимость возможна, так как UMI.CMS получает случайные числа с помощью php-функции rand, при этом не инициализируя генератор случайных чисел с помощью функции srand, вызванной с параметром (SEED). В данном случае PHP автоматически вызывает функцию srand c предсказуемым на основе генерируемой сессии SEED, что позволяет определить каждый дальнейший результат вызова функций rand. Так же, при установке на ОС Windows данный код обеспечивает всего 2^15 возможных вариантов генерируемых токенов.

Решение

Установите последнюю версию приложения.

Статус уведомления

16.08.2012 - Производитель уведомлен
17.08.2012 - Производителю отправлены детали уязвимости
20.11.2012 - Производитель выпустил исправление
11.02.2013 - Публикация уязвимости

Благодарности

Уязвимость обнаружил Тимур Юнусов (Исследовательcкий центр Positive Research компании Positive Technologies)


Ссылки

http://www.securitylab.ru/lab/PT-2012-27

Список отчетов о ранее обнаруженных уязвимостях Positive Research:

http://www.ptsecurity.ru/lab/advisory/
http://www.securitylab.ru/lab/

О Positive Technologies

Positive Technologies www.ptsecurity.ru - одна из ведущих российских компаний в области информационной безопасности. 
Основные направления деятельности компании - разработка систем комплексного мониторинга информационной безопасности (XSpider, MaxPatrol); предоставление консалтинговых и сервисных услуг в области информационной безопасности; развитие специализированного портала Securitylab.ru.

Заказчиками Positive Technologies являются более 40 государственных учреждений, более 50 банков и финансовых структур, 20 телекоммуникационных компаний, более 40 промышленных предприятий, компании ИТ-индустрии, сервисные и ритейловые компании России, стран СНГ, Балтии, а также Великобритании, Германии, Голландии, Израиля, Ирана, Китая, Мексики, США, Таиланда, Турции, Эквадора, ЮАР, Японии.

Positive Technologies - это команда высококвалифицированных разработчиков, консультантов и экспертов, которые обладают большим практическим опытом, имеют профессиональные звания и сертификаты, являются членами международных организаций и активно участвуют в развитии отрасли.